PDA

View Full Version : Chicago

Walrus
03-13-2005, 02:02 AM
Just a few quick thoughts on the last show of the tour...I'm still new to this whole Jayhawks thing, so this was the first performance of any of these guys that I'd ever seen.

I'd heard a recording of one of the earlier shows of the tour, and it left me a bit underwhelmed, but whatever was missing they seemed to have ironed out by the end of the tour. There were still a couple of false starts, but overall it seemed like it was coming together quite well. There was some playful banter between Mark and Gary, and it definitely didn't seem like either of them were just trying to get the tour over with, as I had read someone state in a review somewhere else. It wasn't like they were in total euphoria from playing together either, but they seemed to be having a reasonably good time.

The one thing I noticed above all is that the harmonies have definitely improved from the start of the tour, which really made the show. Obviously I can't compare it to "the old days" like a lot of you can, but they really sounded great. The place was packed and the crowd seemed to be really into it, which definitely helped as well.

I'll post more in a day or two once I've had a chance to collect my thoughts (and get some much needed sleep), but whatever the verdict is on this tour, it certainly ended on a high note.

Also, thanks to the few of you I met while hanging out waiting for them to come on...sorry, I suck with names, but I was the dude in the front row right in front of Gary...sorry I missed you guys after the show :(...but you guys were really nice and hopefully we will meet again...

Bigb
03-13-2005, 09:30 AM
I wound up getting a ticket last minute and headed to the show. What a great show. Gary is phenomenal. "I'd Run Away" and "Angelyne" were standouts for me. The show seemed a bit business-like at first but they quickly loosened up. I'm sure glad I went.

jcarlile
03-13-2005, 09:43 AM