PDA

View Full Version : Another New Olson Interview

J. Chamberlain
09-04-2014, 10:17 PM
http://glasswerk.co.uk/magazine/article/20666/Glasswerk+meets++Mark+Olson/

POSTED THURSDAY 4TH OF SEP 2014 BY JAMIE OTSA IN INTERVIEW

We had the honour of catching up with Mark Olson, founding member of The Jayhawks and now striking out again with another solo release in the form of forthcoming record 'Good-bye Lizelle' released 26th September on Glitterhouse Records. Here, he tells us about the inspirations behind the new record and few secrets from his personal life...

When I first started playing music...

I started playing music in Minnesota when I was 12. I played the flute in the school band and ran to school pretending the flute was a peace pipe. I also went to French camp at that age because the counties in Minnesota have French names because the voyageurs came there first with their canoes and I always imagined music as some type of poetic, foreign language venture with a flute floating on top.

I lived for many years in the desert then after my start in touring music and, here in the heat and isolation, I found a way to catalog themes and points of view and word ideas and to focus on making an album with an overall sense of time and out of time atmosphere; the mood and atmosphere being more lyrically driven than effects box driven. Ingunn is my wife and a very talented, natural musician - she ran across the street and into the woods when she bought her first guitar, she was so excited to write her own songs. She rode with a djembe on her back to high school everyday and when I found out she played the djembe, that was the exact hour and beginning of our band.

If I had to choose a new name for the band it would be...